Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

anything that doesn't fit to other groups.

QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

Postby queBurro » Fri May 06, 2011 1:49 pm

Hi,

I've got a licensed copy of 6.3.2 which I was developing on XP with. I've now moved to Win7 and apparently there's an activation issue with it. I don't have the budget to move to 6.5 (and I don't want to introduce the risk of updating into my project) so... I've been browsing my code with an up to date Eclipse3.6-CDT and am planning on compiling in an XP VM using Momentics.
What I'd like to do is to build and debug using CDT and break my dependence on Momentics(eclipse3.1), has anyone done this, any tips you could give me?

TIA
queBurro
Active Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm

RE: QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

Postby mario » Fri May 06, 2011 4:20 pm

Depends on your projet, it could be done I guess by it might be very time consuming. You wouldn`t be able to use qcc because it check for licensing. Plus I`m not sure what other tool involved in compilation and debugging also required the license.

I would suggest you contact QNX to check if there isn`t a way to make 6.3.2 install on Win7. Or use a Linux VM to run momentic, even from within a VM it will be FASTER yes I said FASTER then 6.3.2 on Windows.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

Postby maschoen » Mon May 09, 2011 6:17 pm

And of course you could run XP on Win7 with VM.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2647
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: RE: QNX632 / Win7 / CDT

Postby queBurro » Tue May 10, 2011 1:16 pm

mario wrote:Depends on your projet, it could be done I guess by it might be very time consuming. You wouldn`t be able to use qcc because it check for licensing. Plus I`m not sure what other tool involved in compilation and debugging also required the license.

I would suggest you contact QNX to check if there isn`t a way to make 6.3.2 install on Win7. Or use a Linux VM to run momentic, even from within a VM it will be FASTER yes I said FASTER then 6.3.2 on Windows.


ok, I'd not even considered running Momentics in a Linux VM, if I'm forced to run a VM then that might be the way to go, cheers :)
queBurro
Active Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm


Return to General Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest