Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - To achieve timing interval <1ms

To achieve timing interval <1ms

For discussion of realtime and/or embedded programming.

To achieve timing interval <1ms

Postby pradeep » Tue May 15, 2012 7:23 am

Hi ,


I am working on a critical project in QNX 6.3.0 where i need to run a particular part of a code less than 1ms.
But i found below lines in QNX help
If your CPU is 40 MHz or better, a tick is 1 ms.

Does this mean that i cannot run the timer less than 1ms.

Please help me in this regard.

regards
Pradeep
pradeep
Active Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:17 am

Re: To achieve timing interval <1ms

Postby Thunderblade » Tue May 15, 2012 8:29 am

The OS is providing "software based" timers with the tick as the timebase, you can have thousands of them. Less than 1ms would mean a lot of overhead. You could make the tick smaller, but I would advise against that. I'd simply use another hardware timer.
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: To achieve timing interval <1ms

Postby pradeep » Wed May 16, 2012 5:13 am

HI,

Thanks for the quick reply,

Please suggest me how to change the tick size, Is it using clock_period() function and does this effect the hardware clock of the computer.

regards
Pradeep
pradeep
Active Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:17 am


Return to Realtime and Embedded

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron