Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - loading the wrong NIC driver...

loading the wrong NIC driver...

For discussion of realtime and/or embedded programming.

loading the wrong NIC driver...

Postby queBurro » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:10 pm

hi, I've got a new host, the host's got 2 (unsupported) realtek on-board nics and 2 on-board video outs. I think when the OS boots up enum-devices(?) looks at what's on the pci bus and then tries to load an appropriate driver. The nics though aren't actually supported and eventually the incorrectly configured io-pkt-v4-hc crashes. So, I've slayed io-pkt-v4-hc and restarted it with the correct driver for a NIC I've got on a separate card, I then get comms and I'm happy. My problem occurs when I reboot, it looks to me like all (including the unsupported) NICs are then reloaded again and I've then lost comms. Please can you tell me how I can stop the unsupported NICs being started/loaded etc? is there a blacklist .conf somewhere? (or a gui...)

I had something similar going on with the video outs, one was supported and one wasn't, I slayed io-display and started it again correctly and I've not had any more trouble, I'm not sure why my NICs aren't behaving in the same way.

Cheers

edit... hmm, should I have umount'ed the wrong drivers instead of slaying the io-pkt-v4-hc process?
queBurro
Active Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm

Re: loading the wrong NIC driver...

Postby maschoen » Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:32 am

This is a strange occurrence. The enumeration is done by looking at the PCI Vendor and Device ID. The enumerator does not "try to load an appropriate driver". It loads drivers that are supposed to work.

I would run "pci" to get the vendor:device id and then take a look a the file /etc/system/enum/devices/net to see what is being loaded. I'd try loading it manually and see if there are any parameters that need adjusting.

Or you can turn off the automatic enumeration all together. This is a little tricky, but a good exercise for when you want to create an embedded system.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: loading the wrong NIC driver...

Postby queBurro » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:32 am

apologies... some more info. I'd searched here (http://www.qnx.org.uk/developers/hardwa ... earch.html) for my on-board NICs device id and not found it but they're actually supported, it's just the Did isn't listed (and I'd searched on Did).
queBurro
Active Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm

Re: loading the wrong NIC driver...

Postby Thunderblade » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:10 am

You could automate this by using rc.local. I've seen instances of network drivers not working although they are supported, and re-loading them after slaying io-pkt then just worked. I think the enumerator sometimes doesn't do the right thing when it encounters multiple network interfaces.
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: loading the wrong NIC driver...

Postby queBurro » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:31 am

@TB, thanks, I'm doing something like that at the moment, it didn't look very 'official' though
queBurro
Active Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm


Return to Realtime and Embedded

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests