Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - host name

host name

Read-only archive of qnx.newuser (Installation, configuration and administration of the QNX Neutrino or QNX Momentics environments) at inn.qnx.com

host name

Postby RichardVerzijl » Thu Feb 14, 2008 12:04 pm

Hi,

My QNX6.3.2 machine is in a network (DHCP). When I ping this machine from an other machine I don't see the host name although it has one. What do I need to do so the QNX machine will show its host name?

Regards,
richard
RichardVerzijl
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:10 pm

RE: host name

Postby maschoen » Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:31 pm

You could put it in the /etc/resolv.conf file.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

RE: host name

Postby RichardVerzijl » Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:52 am

I added this to my /etc/resolv.conf but no success.

domain my.domain
nameserver 192.168.x.y
RichardVerzijl
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:10 pm

RE: host name

Postby maschoen » Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:09 pm

I was thinking something more like

192.168.1.5 hostname
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: RE: host name

Postby maschoen » Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:10 pm

maschoen wrote:I guess I spoke too quickly. I was thinking of /etc/hosts with something like:

192.168.1.5 hostname
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

RE: Re: RE: host name

Postby RichardVerzijl » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:17 pm

I did it.
$/usr/sbin/dhcp.client -i en0 -m -u -t 1 -h MyHostName

Now the right things are in /etc/net.cfg

hostname MyHostName
domain my.domain
nameserver 192.168.x.y
route 192.168.a.b 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0
lookup file bind
RichardVerzijl
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:10 pm

Re: host name

Postby Ryan J. Allen » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:52 pm

On 14/02/2008 8:54 AM, RichardVerzijl wrote:
My QNX6.3.2 machine is in a network (DHCP). When I ping this machine
from an other machine I don't see the host name although it has one.
What do I need to do so the QNX machine will show its host name?

If you want to be able to "ping qnxmachine" from another computer then
"qnxmachine" has to be defined either in your network's DNS servers or
in your local /etc/hosts file.

If you want traffic from "qnxmachine"'s IP to reverse DNS to the name
"qnxmachine" you need to have the reverse DNS information put in the DNS
server on your network.

--
Ryan J. Allen
QNX Software Systems
Ryan J. Allen
 


Return to qnx.newuser

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests