Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Urgent: 5000 Euro Reward

Page 1 of 1

Urgent: 5000 Euro Reward

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:58 pm
by servers
message unavailable

Urgent: 5000 Euro Reward

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:58 pm
by Guest
5000 Euro Belohnung / 5000 Euro Reward --------------------------------------Ich biete eine Belohnung von 5000 Euro wenn mir jemand verraetwie ein Streetgame (International Money Game) die Leute um den Spieler herrum beeinflusst.Ich stecke in genau diesem Unfug drin und irgendjemand manipuliertalle Leute, denen ich begegne und Radio bzw. Fernsehprogramme, dieich beobachte.I offer a reward of 5000 Euro if anybody tells me how a streetgame(International Money Game) manipulates the people around the player.I'm currently trapped in something like that and somebody manipulateseverybody I meet and radio or TV programs I watch or listen to.http://www.fastenrath.net/, http://slashdot.org/~fastenrath/Bernhard FastenrathSteinfelder Gasse 1, 50670 Koeln, Germanyfon: +49-173-5166326fax: +49-69-13306976636email: fasten@hrs.com

Reducing MTU on Ethernet interface - how?

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 11:20 pm
by John Nagle
I need to reduce the MTU on a QNX Ethernet interface to
allow operation with an upstream router to a DSL line.
(MTU discovery isn't working due to a router firmware problem.)
Is there some way to do this?

(I know about "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1", but that
doesn't help; that's for when QNX is running the PPPoE client itself.)

QNX 6.21, x86

John Nagle

(I still keep one QNX desktop machine around from the Overbot project,
to support the students at UC Santa Cruz who now have the Overbot.
and like the Overbot, it runs 6.21.)

Re: Reducing MTU on Ethernet interface - how?

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:41 pm
by Gilles Roy
On Mon, May 29, 2006 at 11:20:58PM +0000, John Nagle wrote:
I need to reduce the MTU on a QNX Ethernet interface to allow
operation with an upstream router to a DSL line. (MTU discovery
isn't working due to a router firmware problem.) Is there some way to
do this?

(I know about "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1", but that doesn't
help; that's for when QNX is running the PPPoE client itself.)

Try

ifconfig en0 mtu n

Where n is the desired mtu.


Gilles Roy

Re: Reducing MTU on Ethernet interface - how?

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 8:10 pm
by John Nagle
It turns out that forcing a smaller MTU on a running system requires something
like this:

/sbin/sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1
/sbin/ifconfig en0 mtu 1492
/sbin/sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1
/sbin/route change -mtu 1492 default 192.168.1.1

This gets the word to everybody in the chain.

John Nagle

Gilles Roy wrote:
On Mon, May 29, 2006 at 11:20:58PM +0000, John Nagle wrote:

I need to reduce the MTU on a QNX Ethernet interface to allow
operation with an upstream router to a DSL line. (MTU discovery
isn't working due to a router firmware problem.) Is there some way to
do this?

(I know about "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1", but that doesn't
help; that's for when QNX is running the PPPoE client itself.)


Try

ifconfig en0 mtu n

Where n is the desired mtu.


Gilles Roy

Re: Reducing MTU on Ethernet interface - how?

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:31 am
by Guest
I think you only need the mss_ifmtu=1 if you have more than 1 interface.
The RFC says stack has to pick "biggest MTU in system" for MSS
caculation. So if one of your internal interface is 1500, and you reduce
your outgoing mtu to 1492, your MSS would still too big.

The mss_ifmtu switch the behavior to use "the interface's MTU" to
caculate MSS.

-xtang

John Nagle <nagle@overbot.com> wrote:
It turns out that forcing a smaller MTU on a running system requires something
like this:

/sbin/sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1
/sbin/ifconfig en0 mtu 1492
/sbin/sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1
/sbin/route change -mtu 1492 default 192.168.1.1

This gets the word to everybody in the chain.

John Nagle

Gilles Roy wrote:
On Mon, May 29, 2006 at 11:20:58PM +0000, John Nagle wrote:

I need to reduce the MTU on a QNX Ethernet interface to allow
operation with an upstream router to a DSL line. (MTU discovery
isn't working due to a router firmware problem.) Is there some way to
do this?

(I know about "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mss_ifmtu=1", but that doesn't
help; that's for when QNX is running the PPPoE client itself.)


Try

ifconfig en0 mtu n

Where n is the desired mtu.


Gilles Roy

Re: Reducing MTU on Ethernet interface - how?

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 1:44 am
by John Nagle
xtang@qnx.com wrote:
I think you only need the mss_ifmtu=1 if you have more than 1 interface.
The RFC says stack has to pick "biggest MTU in system" for MSS
caculation. So if one of your internal interface is 1500, and you reduce
your outgoing mtu to 1492, your MSS would still too big.

The mss_ifmtu switch the behavior to use "the interface's MTU" to
caculate MSS.

The question is whether the loopback device's MTU (which is huge)
goes into that calculation.

John Nagle

Re: Opening Pseudo Terminal

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:20 pm
by Wojtek Lerch
Joseph wrote:
Will forkpty() also help? Can you share more ideas about when each is used?

Like the documentation says, forkpty() combines openpty(), fork(), and
login_tty(). It's a convenient way of saving several lines of code if a
fork() and a login_tty() is what you need to do after openpty(); but if
the next thing you're going to do is exec(), then under QNX the spawn()
function is a more efficient way of doing what the fork(), login_tty(),
and exec() calls would do.