Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - display problem

display problem

Read-only archive of qnx.newuser (Installation, configuration and administration of the QNX Neutrino or QNX Momentics environments) at inn.qnx.com

display problem

Postby hamza » Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:01 pm

Hello,
I developped an application on a host machine on QNX IDE 1.4 and downloaded
it to a target machine running QNX momentics 6.3.0.
Now when running the application I can't see any where where all printfs in
the application are displayed.
So if some one knows what I have to do to see all the messages I want to
display it could be very helpful for me.
Thank you
hamza
 

Re: display problem

Postby kwschumm » Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:01 pm

How are you starting the program?

"hamza" <hamza.elkouch@polymtl.ca> wrote in message
news:f8qkuj$e0q$1@inn.qnx.com...
Hello,
I developped an application on a host machine on QNX IDE 1.4 and
downloaded
it to a target machine running QNX momentics 6.3.0.
Now when running the application I can't see any where where all printfs
in
the application are displayed.
So if some one knows what I have to do to see all the messages I want to
display it could be very helpful for me.
Thank you

kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: display problem

Postby hamza » Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:08 pm

Hello,
I'm running the program from the run buton in QNX IDE.
I don't know if it's the correct way to run the program.
Thank you for your reponse.

"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:f8qor4$g71$1@inn.qnx.com...
How are you starting the program?

"hamza" <hamza.elkouch@polymtl.ca> wrote in message
news:f8qkuj$e0q$1@inn.qnx.com...
Hello,
I developped an application on a host machine on QNX IDE 1.4 and
downloaded
it to a target machine running QNX momentics 6.3.0.
Now when running the application I can't see any where where all printfs
in
the application are displayed.
So if some one knows what I have to do to see all the messages I want to
display it could be very helpful for me.
Thank you



hamza
 

Re: display problem

Postby Ryan J. Allen » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:53 pm

On 15/08/2007 2:08 PM, hamza wrote:
I'm running the program from the run buton in QNX IDE.

Run it from a terminal window.

--
Ryan J. Allen
QNX Software Systems
Ryan J. Allen
 

Re: display problem

Postby hamza » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:22 pm

hello,
thank you ryan for your support.
I forgot to say that I'm a newbie in QNX world, so please could expand your
answer please.
You said to run the executable from a terminal window, is that means to only
write the name of the executable in a terminal window and it will work?
Maybe more details of what I'm doing could clear some stuff for you.
I'm trying to develop drivers for national instruments PCI-6025E board. I'm
using MHDDK. I'm developping the application in QNX IDE Momentics suite 1.4
running on WinXP. I want to run my application on a target machine running
QNX Neutrino 6.3.0 SP3. I checked the option in QNX IDE to dowload the
executable on the target in a path that i specified.
After a successful build I found the executable into the directory on the
target machine but I can't run by double clicking it, I tried to launch it
from a terminl by typing the name of the executable without result.
So maybe there is another solution?
thank you.

"Ryan J. Allen" <ryallen@qnx.com> wrote in message
news:f9vlbh$dnf$1@inn.qnx.com...
On 15/08/2007 2:08 PM, hamza wrote:
I'm running the program from the run buton in QNX IDE.

Run it from a terminal window.

--
Ryan J. Allen
QNX Software Systems
hamza
 

Re: display problem

Postby Robert Craig » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:41 pm

Hmmm... Sounds like you're setting up a full launch configuration within
the IDE... I seem to remember there being an output flushing issue when
something is launched from within the IDE.

What happens if you add this line to your main routine?

setvbuf(stdout, NULL, _IONBF, 0);


Robert.

hamza wrote:
hello,
thank you ryan for your support.
I forgot to say that I'm a newbie in QNX world, so please could expand your
answer please.
You said to run the executable from a terminal window, is that means to only
write the name of the executable in a terminal window and it will work?
Maybe more details of what I'm doing could clear some stuff for you.
I'm trying to develop drivers for national instruments PCI-6025E board. I'm
using MHDDK. I'm developping the application in QNX IDE Momentics suite 1.4
running on WinXP. I want to run my application on a target machine running
QNX Neutrino 6.3.0 SP3. I checked the option in QNX IDE to dowload the
executable on the target in a path that i specified.
After a successful build I found the executable into the directory on the
target machine but I can't run by double clicking it, I tried to launch it
from a terminl by typing the name of the executable without result.
So maybe there is another solution?
thank you.

"Ryan J. Allen" <ryallen@qnx.com> wrote in message
news:f9vlbh$dnf$1@inn.qnx.com...
On 15/08/2007 2:08 PM, hamza wrote:
I'm running the program from the run buton in QNX IDE.
Run it from a terminal window.

--
Ryan J. Allen
QNX Software Systems

Robert Craig
 

Re: display problem

Postby David Gibbs » Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:59 pm

Robert Craig <rcraig_at_qnx@nowhere.com> wrote:
Hmmm... Sounds like you're setting up a full launch configuration within
the IDE... I seem to remember there being an output flushing issue when
something is launched from within the IDE.

That was a problem many moons ago. Default launch configurations now
go through a pseudo-tty, and don't usually have the problem.

What happens if you add this line to your main routine?

setvbuf(stdout, NULL, _IONBF, 0);

That needs to be added BEFORE any use of stdout, including before any printf().

-David
--
David Gibbs
QNX Training Services
dagibbs@qnx.com
David Gibbs
 


Return to qnx.newuser

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests