Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Dual head monitor support

Dual head monitor support

Read-only archive of qnx.ddk (Writing device drivers for scanners, video card, optical mouse, etc) at inn.qnx.com

Dual head monitor support

Postby Mike Gorchak » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:08 pm

Hello, All!

Documentation for the io-graphics noticed:
http://www.qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. ... phics.html

When multiple displays are supported by a single device, the following
functions will only work on one display:
a.. PgSetDPMSMode()
b.. PgReadScreen()
c.. PgGetGraphicsHWCaps()
d.. PgGetVideoModeList()
e.. PgGetVideoModeInfo()
f.. PgSetVideoMode()
g.. PgGetVideoMode()
In addition, PdSetTargetDevice() may not work correctly, and video overlays
will probably only work on one display.

The last sentence is a half of the truth.

Driver does not got any clue where the second monitor is placed in the
photon coordinate space. For example, the first monitor is placed at "-1280"
x-axis displacement, while the second one is placed at zero x-axis
displacement. Another example, first monitor is placed at 0,0, the second at
0,-1024. How the graphics driver could guess where monitors are placed in
the photon coordinate space ? So there is no any "video overlays will
probably work on one display", it is possible to create such monitor layout,
that overlay will not work anymore. It is sad, when hardware supports four
simultenously outputs with a lot of features, but photon/gfddk API bounds
hardware support to one sticky output with minimum acceleration.

I've additional notice about dual-head monitor configuration. The second
monitor (video output) will use software cursor only, independent on the
hardware capabilities. Looks like concerning the problem described with
overlays.

Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the coffin)

Dual head monitor support for QNX is completely useless and needed just for
tick on paper.

With best regards, Mike Gorchak. E-mail: mike@malva.ua
Mike Gorchak
 

RE: Dual head monitor support

Postby maschoen » Sun Feb 10, 2008 1:31 am

It's too bad if QNX hasn't paid attention to this detail. It worked find on QNX 4, although there was a quirk or two. I recall that Photon 2.0 had support for direct video memory access for things like video, and I can see where getting that just right with dual monitors might be a challenge. Using two monitors for development is heaven. I have two system set up this way, and my QNX 6 system would be if I could get the bios on my development machine to recognize two PCI video cards at the same time.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby Mario Charest » Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:53 pm

"Mike Gorchak" <mike@malva.ua> wrote in message
news:fokfb2$e2f$1@inn.qnx.com...
Hello, All!

Documentation for the io-graphics noticed:
http://www.qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. ... phics.html

When multiple displays are supported by a single device, the following
functions will only work on one display:
a.. PgSetDPMSMode()
b.. PgReadScreen()
c.. PgGetGraphicsHWCaps()
d.. PgGetVideoModeList()
e.. PgGetVideoModeInfo()
f.. PgSetVideoMode()
g.. PgGetVideoMode()
In addition, PdSetTargetDevice() may not work correctly, and video
overlays will probably only work on one display.

The last sentence is a half of the truth.

Driver does not got any clue where the second monitor is placed in the
photon coordinate space. For example, the first monitor is placed at
"-1280" x-axis displacement, while the second one is placed at zero x-axis
displacement. Another example, first monitor is placed at 0,0, the second
at 0,-1024. How the graphics driver could guess where monitors are placed
in the photon coordinate space ? So there is no any "video overlays will
probably work on one display", it is possible to create such monitor
layout, that overlay will not work anymore. It is sad, when hardware
supports four simultenously outputs with a lot of features, but
photon/gfddk API bounds hardware support to one sticky output with minimum
acceleration.

I've additional notice about dual-head monitor configuration. The second
monitor (video output) will use software cursor only, independent on the
hardware capabilities. Looks like concerning the problem described with
overlays.

Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the coffin)


You are running Eclipse on QNX ??? Oh my god ;)

Dual head monitor support for QNX is completely useless and needed just
for tick on paper.

With best regards, Mike Gorchak. E-mail: mike@malva.ua
Mario Charest
 

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby evanh » Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:19 pm

Mario Charest wrote:
"Mike Gorchak" <mike@malva.ua> wrote in message
Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the coffin)


You are running Eclipse on QNX ??? Oh my god ;)


Only way to go! I wouldn't have been much interested in QNX if it wasn't also my desktop.


Evan
evanh
QNX Master
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 8:04 am

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby kwschumm » Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:05 am

"Evan Hillas" <evanh@clear.net.nz> wrote in message
news:foqa9q$eqi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Mario Charest wrote:
"Mike Gorchak" <mike@malva.ua> wrote in message
Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the
coffin)


You are running Eclipse on QNX ??? Oh my god ;)


Only way to go! I wouldn't have been much interested in QNX if it wasn't
also my desktop.


I have to run Eclipse on Windows on my current contract but hope to get back
to command
line on QNX soon. I spend way too much time fighting Eclipse bugs, design
choices and design flaws.
kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby Mario Charest » Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:08 pm

"Evan Hillas" <evanh@clear.net.nz> wrote in message
news:foqa9q$eqi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Mario Charest wrote:
"Mike Gorchak" <mike@malva.ua> wrote in message
Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the
coffin)


You are running Eclipse on QNX ??? Oh my god ;)


Only way to go! I wouldn't have been much interested in QNX if it wasn't
also my desktop.



It's just that Eclipse on QNX is one version behind and the difference
between the version is very very significant. And the Tau version is even
better.

Plus the JVM used by QNX is slower then the Windows one.

Personnaly I use a combination of Eclipse of Windows and command line option
( via Phindows ). I try to use the best of both world. Cause I don't
beleive that as much as they try that an IDE will give you the level of
control you can get via the power of makefiles and shell scripts ;-)

> Evan
Mario Charest
 

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby Q » Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:45 am

I have to run Eclipse on Windows on my current contract but hope to get
back to command
line on QNX soon. I spend way too much time fighting Eclipse bugs, design
choices and design flaws.

use free c/c++ editors:
- Microsoft Visual C++ Express Edition
- Programmer's Notepad
- ...
and create your own makefiles.

Eclipse sucks.
Q
 

Re: Dual head monitor support

Postby Mike Gorchak » Wed Feb 13, 2008 2:37 pm

Hello, Mario!

Eclipse fails to run on dual head configuration. (last nail in the
coffin)
MC> You are running Eclipse on QNX ??? Oh my god ;)


Sometimes :) It's painful to use Eclipse while developing graphics driver :)

With best regards, Mike Gorchak. E-mail: mike@malva.ua
Mike Gorchak
 


Return to qnx.ddk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest