Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Problem with 2 net drivers

Problem with 2 net drivers

Read-only archive of qnx.qnx4 (General QNX4 Discussion Group) at inn.qnx.com

Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby Carlos Clarke » Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:36 pm

I'm trying to run 2 drivers under Qnx4.

I using a 3COM 509 on en1 and a Realtek controller on en2.

I can run either controller separately on en1. When I try to
ifconfig the Realtek controller on en2 I get "ifconfig: ioctl
SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface".

I've started Net.rtl with the -l 2 flag so I was expecting to be
able use en2.

I turned on the verbose option to Net. After each driver loads
I get "Net: Runtime Error 0056". Then after Net.rtl runs I also
start getting "Net: Runtime Error 0037".

Can someone tell me what these runtime errors are and
what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Carlos
Carlos Clarke
 

Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby maschoen » Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:59 pm

Carlos Clarke wrote:I'm trying to run 2 drivers under Qnx4.

I using a 3COM 509 on en1 and a Realtek controller on en2.

I can run either controller separately on en1. When I try to
ifconfig the Realtek controller on en2 I get "ifconfig: ioctl
SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface".

I've started Net.rtl with the -l 2 flag so I was expecting to be
able use en2.

I turned on the verbose option to Net. After each driver loads
I get "Net: Runtime Error 0056". Then after Net.rtl runs I also
start getting "Net: Runtime Error 0037".

Can someone tell me what these runtime errors are and
what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Carlos


I'm not in front of my QNX 4 system right now, but it seems that both invokations would try to access the same hardware. Check the programs parameters, and look for something like a -P (PCI SLOT) option, or a base address parameter.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby Carlos Clarke » Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:59 am

On 14 Jun 2006 17:59:06 GMT, maschoen@pobox-dot-com.no-spam.invalid
(maschoen) wrote:

Carlos Clarkewrote:
I'm trying to run 2 drivers under Qnx4.

I using a 3COM 509 on en1 and a Realtek controller on en2.

I can run either controller separately on en1. When I try to
ifconfig the Realtek controller on en2 I get "ifconfig: ioctl
SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface".

I've started Net.rtl with the -l 2 flag so I was expecting to be
able use en2.

I turned on the verbose option to Net. After each driver loads
I get "Net: Runtime Error 0056". Then after Net.rtl runs I also
start getting "Net: Runtime Error 0037".

Can someone tell me what these runtime errors are and
what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Carlos

I'm not in front of my QNX 4 system right now, but it seems that both
invokations would try to access the same hardware. Check the
programs parameters, and look for something like a -P (PCI SLOT)
option, or a base address parameter.

I did set the base address for the 3com driver. I know the Realtek
driver works without args on another QNX system using the same
single board computer.
It turns out that if I run Net.rtl first I can set it to en1 or en2
and run the 3com driver afterward.
It makes me think there is an address conflict but I don't know
what addresses the Realtek controller uses.

I'm still getting the Net: Runtime Errors 0056 and 0037.
Can someone point me to some documentation that explains
these errors.

Thanks,
Carlos
Carlos Clarke
 

Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby Bert Menkveld » Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:02 pm

"Carlos Clarke" <carlos@ptdprolog.net> wrote in message
news:45i292lld7no44l13ag60irlj1qhgvte7b@4ax.com...
On 14 Jun 2006 17:59:06 GMT, maschoen@pobox-dot-com.no-spam.invalid
(maschoen) wrote:

Carlos Clarkewrote:
I'm trying to run 2 drivers under Qnx4.

I using a 3COM 509 on en1 and a Realtek controller on en2.

I can run either controller separately on en1. When I try to
ifconfig the Realtek controller on en2 I get "ifconfig: ioctl
SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface".

I've started Net.rtl with the -l 2 flag so I was expecting to be
able use en2.

I turned on the verbose option to Net. After each driver loads
I get "Net: Runtime Error 0056". Then after Net.rtl runs I also
start getting "Net: Runtime Error 0037".

Can someone tell me what these runtime errors are and
what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Carlos

I'm not in front of my QNX 4 system right now, but it seems that both
invokations would try to access the same hardware. Check the
programs parameters, and look for something like a -P (PCI SLOT)
option, or a base address parameter.

I did set the base address for the 3com driver. I know the Realtek
driver works without args on another QNX system using the same
single board computer.
It turns out that if I run Net.rtl first I can set it to en1 or en2
and run the 3com driver afterward.
It makes me think there is an address conflict but I don't know
what addresses the Realtek controller uses.

I'm still getting the Net: Runtime Errors 0056 and 0037.
Can someone point me to some documentation that explains
these errors.

netinfo -a

This will show all the error messages. To filter out what you're looking
for, you might try:

netinfo -a | grep 56
netinfo -a | grep 37

--
Bert Menkveld
P. Eng.
B&E Technologies
bert@betech.biz
Ph: 519-669-0950
Bert Menkveld
 

Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby Oleg Khamayko » Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:20 am

I've met some troubles using TCP/IP with 2 Net.* cards also.

See "Net+Socket enumaration bug" subj in this newsgroup.

My recomendations:

on clean (no Net & Socket running, net cables disconnected) system manually
start

Net &

Run first 'Net.XXXdriver -l1' and 'netmap' to inspect it's MAC adress
Run second 'Net.XXXdriver -l2' and 'netmap' to inspect it's MAC adress

add 'netmap -m' entry for some QNX4 PC.
Test QNX4 net. OK?

Run Socket
ifconfig en1 ...
connect the net cable and ping neighbour PC. OK?

ifconfig en2 ...
connect next net cable and ping neighbour PC. OK?

With 'arp -a', 'netstat -i' you may check MAC addresses for en1 and en2.
They both must correspond to the 'netmap' output.

Carlos Clarke <carlos@ptdprolog.net> wrote in message
news:7q3092hgbo2joscn6bkebut3pl57l7rncl@4ax.com...
I'm trying to run 2 drivers under Qnx4.

I using a 3COM 509 on en1 and a Realtek controller on en2.

I can run either controller separately on en1. When I try to
ifconfig the Realtek controller on en2 I get "ifconfig: ioctl
SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface".

I've started Net.rtl with the -l 2 flag so I was expecting to be
able use en2.

I turned on the verbose option to Net. After each driver loads
I get "Net: Runtime Error 0056". Then after Net.rtl runs I also
start getting "Net: Runtime Error 0037".

Can someone tell me what these runtime errors are and
what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Carlos
Oleg Khamayko
 

Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby Carlos Clarke » Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:43 am

On Wed, 14 Jun 2006 09:36:56 -0400, Carlos Clarke
<carlos@ptdprolog.net> wrote:

Fixed the problem. There was an overlap of i/o addresses.
I was working blind since I didn't have the addresses of
the Realtek chip.

Thanks for all the help.
Carlos
Carlos Clarke
 

RE: Re: Problem with 2 net drivers

Postby jordanj@rmstarinc.com » Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:36 pm

I have found that with some of the newer QNX4 Net.xxxx drivers, they take about 10 seconds to register. Putting a 'sleep 10' after the Net.xxx driver in the sysinit usually clears this problem.
jordanj@rmstarinc.com
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 4:04 pm
Location: Philly


Return to qnx.qnx4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests