Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - PHP4 with Apache Server in QNX

PHP4 with Apache Server in QNX

Read-only archive of qnx.3rdparty_product_announcements (general 3rd Party product announcements) at inn.qnx.com

PHP4 with Apache Server in QNX

Postby Shanthi » Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:08 am

Hi,

I've installed Apache Web Server from the third party software supplied
along with QNX 6.2.1
I want to use PHP for dynamic web page creation.
How should I proceed?
Should I install anymore things for PHP (or)
What are the changes that has to be done in the httpd.conf file

I've tried to do some changes in the httpd.conf file but there was a error
in 'LoadModule' line. Where should the line 'AddModule' included?
I'm also not able to find the file libphp4.so in the libexec directory.

Can anyone suggest something?
I'm totally new to this area.

Bye.
M.Shanthi
Shanthi
 

Re: PHP4 with Apache Server in QNX

Postby kolesdz » Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:40 am

Shanthi wrote:
Hi,

I've installed Apache Web Server from the third party software supplied
along with QNX 6.2.1
I want to use PHP for dynamic web page creation.
How should I proceed?
Should I install anymore things for PHP (or)
What are the changes that has to be done in the httpd.conf file

I've tried to do some changes in the httpd.conf file but there was a error
in 'LoadModule' line. Where should the line 'AddModule' included?
I'm also not able to find the file libphp4.so in the libexec directory.

Can anyone suggest something?
I'm totally new to this area.

Bye.
M.Shanthi

Hi Shanti,


1. Apache
-install from 6.2.1 repository
-make changes in http.conf
Port for ex. Port 80
ServerAdmin for ex. ServerAdmin you@hotmail.com
ServerName for ex. ServerName localhost
DocumentRoot for ex. DocumentRoot "/var/www/htdocs"
and so on (a lot but not all necessary - depends on you)
-start server with /usr/sbin/apachectl start

2.PHP
-install from 6.2.1 repository
Add this to httpd.conf sure you will find where

LoadModule php4_module libexec/libphp4.so
AddModule mod_php4.c
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .phtml
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

Tada! Thats all.

By the way I suspect qnx.newuser is a better place. It looks you are
anouncing a new PHP4 port ;).

-Jacek
kolesdz
Active Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 12:35 am

How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby charleshb » Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:41 am

Hi

I have just started working on QNX Neutrino 6.3.0. We need to get apache installed on it. But could not find even a single procedure or proper installation package for apache on QNX.

Can you please help us out in this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charles
charleshb
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:58 am

RE: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby maschoen » Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:57 pm

I have some recent experience in this area. I started with original source code. I downloaded Apache 2.0.54 and php 5. There were a number of minor problems, and one big one. The minor problems were code related. The big problem had to do with creating libphp5.so. Some of this is documented at:

http://www.openqnx.com/index.php?name=P ... cdf61daa66

Most of the packages are very standardized now, with a few exceptions. Here is how it works.
1) Download and de-archive the source. Usually you want the *.tar.gz or *.tgz version.
2) Look for a file "configure". If you don't find it, look for a README or INSTALL file.
3) If you have configure, run "# ./configure --help" and look at the options. Often
you will not have to use any, but for Apache you will need to set a few.
4) Run "# ./configure" with any options set.
5) Run "# make"
6) Run "# make install"

Usually packages are installed to /usr/local/package-name by default.


I don't think it is very practical to use a precompiled Apache unless your needs are very limited.
There are a great many features that may need to be configured at compile time, eg. support for
mysql or mysqli, Postgresl, PHP4 or PHP5, SSL, WebDAV, etc.

Unfortunately, there are a great many packages that you may end up downloading to get this
all going. Some will have minor glitches that need adjusting for QNX. Unfortunately some of the stuff supplied with QNX 6 is already way out of date. If you run into any walls, you are welcome to use me as a resource at maschoen@pobox.com.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby John Nagle » Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:43 am

maschoen wrote:
Unfortunately some of the stuff supplied with QNX 6 is already way
out of date. If you run into any walls, you are welcome to use me as
a resource at maschoen@pobox.com.

The problem is that when QSSL dropped the free NC version of QNX,
the open source community dropped support of QNX. So, over time,
less and less open source code works on QNX out of the box.

John Nagle
John Nagle
 

Re: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby maschoen » Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:08 pm

John Nagle wrote:[The problem is that when QSSL dropped the free NC version of QNX,
the open source community dropped support of QNX. So, over time,
less and less open source code works on QNX out of the box.

John Nagle


That may be so. In many cases I found that the problem was just that the version of some package was very old, and was missing features needed by some other higher level package. Most of the time, all I had to do was download the latest source package and do the configure/make/make install dance, which usually ran without incident. It would probably take
%25 of a QSSL programmer's time to keep this stuff under control, but obviously this is not a high priority.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby Mark » Thu Sep 28, 2006 3:09 pm

I am kind of curious as to why you select bloated opens source code for
an embedded system?

How can you possibly fit PHP into your system?

How do you control your device from PHP?

Have you considered using one of the commercial embedded web servers
available?

Is this a home project running on a standard PC?

-Mark
Mark
 

Re: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby maschoen » Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:21 pm

Mark wrote:I am kind of curious as to why you select bloated opens source code for
an embedded system?


Your question certainly seems to make sense in the context that most QNX 6 users are in. My situation is a little different. I've been using QNX since 1983. Except for things more appropriate to Windows, like writing Word documents, and Excel files, I use QNX. It's what I know. You could argue that I should get a Linux system, but then there's a lot I'd need to learn from scratch.

How can you possibly fit PHP into your system?


I run a Dell 6350 Quad PIII server with 2Gig of memory.
I paid $350 for it on eBay, including a 7 bay SCSI RAID.
If I ever needed to run something commercial on it, I'd
sleep well at night.

How do you control your device from PHP?


I would never use Apache for an embedded system, nor attempt
to do device control for PHP. I use this system for my own personal website development.

Have you considered using one of the commercial embedded web servers
available?


No. This really isn't an embedded server. If it was, I would consider such solutions.

Is this a home project running on a standard PC?


Well the web server sort of started that way. As a consultant, I work out of a home office. Apache was originally running under QNX 4, a small nightmare. Back then there were some nifty bells and whistles on my site such as a webcam into my office. There was even an interface to turn a light on and off.

It has morphed into a web development platform, something I'm hoping to do more of in the future. I admit that it is unlikely that someone would prefer to run a commercial server this way. There have been some projects I've considered where the real time features of QNX would come in handy, but nothing that is going forward at this time.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: How do I get apache installed on QNX? - urgent

Postby evanh » Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:36 am

Actually, for low production runs, memory is not an issue these days. Just getting the system to work smoothly is becoming a huge headache and that's exactly where QNX could really excel.


Evan
evanh
QNX Master
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 8:04 am


Return to qnx.3rdparty_product_announce

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest