Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Read-only archive of qnx.cafe (generail discussion forum) at inn.qnx.com

Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby kwschumm » Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:01 am

Anyone using the SlickEdit plug-in with Momentics on Windows successfully?

I bought the latest release, which didn't work because it needed eclipse 3.1

They pointed me to the previous release which sort of worked but it has been
so erratic that I can't say it can be trusted. I've had it take down the
entire environment and some commands work only some of the time. Rebinding
some keys works until the environment is stopped and restarted.

Has anyone found it to work reliably? At this point I'm not sure if it's my
machine or just a bad product.
kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby Kevin Stallard » Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:38 pm

I wonder if anyone has gotten eclipse 3.1 to work with the current version
of Momentics?

Kevin

"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:duvr75$2hi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Anyone using the SlickEdit plug-in with Momentics on Windows successfully?

I bought the latest release, which didn't work because it needed eclipse
3.1

They pointed me to the previous release which sort of worked but it has
been
so erratic that I can't say it can be trusted. I've had it take down the
entire environment and some commands work only some of the time. Rebinding
some keys works until the environment is stopped and restarted.

Has anyone found it to work reliably? At this point I'm not sure if it's
my
machine or just a bad product.

Kevin Stallard
 

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby Kevin Stallard » Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:12 pm

I got it to work. I think I have eclipse 3.1 working with momentics (unless
I'm missing somethign obvious). I'll check it out some more and report any
problems...

Kevin

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv3vgt$q5f$1@inn.qnx.com...
I wonder if anyone has gotten eclipse 3.1 to work with the current version
of Momentics?

Kevin

"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:duvr75$2hi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Anyone using the SlickEdit plug-in with Momentics on Windows
successfully?

I bought the latest release, which didn't work because it needed eclipse
3.1

They pointed me to the previous release which sort of worked but it has
been
so erratic that I can't say it can be trusted. I've had it take down the
entire environment and some commands work only some of the time.
Rebinding
some keys works until the environment is stopped and restarted.

Has anyone found it to work reliably? At this point I'm not sure if it's
my
machine or just a bad product.



Kevin Stallard
 

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby kwschumm » Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:09 am

You have SlickEdit working with 3.1?

I'm having so many problems with SlickEdit that I'm -><- this close to
uninstalling it. Today I was editing and saving files and when the file was
reopened the edits were gone. Yeesh.

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv41fj$rog$1@inn.qnx.com...
I got it to work. I think I have eclipse 3.1 working with momentics
(unless
I'm missing somethign obvious). I'll check it out some more and report
any
problems...

Kevin

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv3vgt$q5f$1@inn.qnx.com...
I wonder if anyone has gotten eclipse 3.1 to work with the current
version
of Momentics?

Kevin

"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:duvr75$2hi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Anyone using the SlickEdit plug-in with Momentics on Windows
successfully?

I bought the latest release, which didn't work because it needed
eclipse
3.1

They pointed me to the previous release which sort of worked but it has
been
so erratic that I can't say it can be trusted. I've had it take down
the
entire environment and some commands work only some of the time.
Rebinding
some keys works until the environment is stopped and restarted.

Has anyone found it to work reliably? At this point I'm not sure if
it's
my
machine or just a bad product.





kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby Kevin Stallard » Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:16 pm

Yeah, I got it working on 3.1 (Momentecs and slickedit). I haven't used it
enough to see wether or not its going to pull stunts like this on me. I
have to say, that they still have a ways to go wtih the eclipse integration.
I like most of what they've done, but its still kind of hard to use in some
cases.

I'll be using it a lot here in the next day or so, so I'll give you my
feedback on it soon I'm sure....

Kevin


"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:dv5beh$o95$1@inn.qnx.com...
You have SlickEdit working with 3.1?

I'm having so many problems with SlickEdit that I'm -><- this close to
uninstalling it. Today I was editing and saving files and when the file
was
reopened the edits were gone. Yeesh.

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv41fj$rog$1@inn.qnx.com...
I got it to work. I think I have eclipse 3.1 working with momentics
(unless
I'm missing somethign obvious). I'll check it out some more and report
any
problems...

Kevin

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv3vgt$q5f$1@inn.qnx.com...
I wonder if anyone has gotten eclipse 3.1 to work with the current
version
of Momentics?

Kevin

"Ken Schumm" <kwschumm@qsolv.com> wrote in message
news:duvr75$2hi$1@inn.qnx.com...
Anyone using the SlickEdit plug-in with Momentics on Windows
successfully?

I bought the latest release, which didn't work because it needed
eclipse
3.1

They pointed me to the previous release which sort of worked but it
has
been
so erratic that I can't say it can be trusted. I've had it take down
the
entire environment and some commands work only some of the time.
Rebinding
some keys works until the environment is stopped and restarted.

Has anyone found it to work reliably? At this point I'm not sure if
it's
my
machine or just a bad product.







Kevin Stallard
 

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby kwschumm » Wed Mar 15, 2006 2:14 am

I've decided to uninstall it and see if they will trade me for the
standalone version. I've had so many problems with it I don't feel it's
trustworthy. A guy has to trust his editor.

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv7i6k$ck1$1@inn.qnx.com...
Yeah, I got it working on 3.1 (Momentecs and slickedit). I haven't used
it
enough to see wether or not its going to pull stunts like this on me. I
have to say, that they still have a ways to go wtih the eclipse
integration.
I like most of what they've done, but its still kind of hard to use in
some
cases.

I'll be using it a lot here in the next day or so, so I'll give you my
feedback on it soon I'm sure....

Kevin
kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby Colin Burgess » Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:00 pm

BTW - sorry if I led you down the garden path. I haven't used it, just heard about it.
I know a lot of guys who really like the standalone.

Ken Schumm wrote:
I've decided to uninstall it and see if they will trade me for the
standalone version. I've had so many problems with it I don't feel it's
trustworthy. A guy has to trust his editor.

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv7i6k$ck1$1@inn.qnx.com...

Yeah, I got it working on 3.1 (Momentecs and slickedit). I haven't used

it

enough to see wether or not its going to pull stunts like this on me. I
have to say, that they still have a ways to go wtih the eclipse

integration.

I like most of what they've done, but its still kind of hard to use in

some

cases.

I'll be using it a lot here in the next day or so, so I'll give you my
feedback on it soon I'm sure....

Kevin


Colin Burgess
 

Re: Anyone using SlickEdit with Momentics?

Postby kwschumm » Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:21 pm

No problem at all Colin. I'm grateful you told me about it. The feature set
I want seems to be there (at least in the standalone version). Some features
they advertise don't work with the plug-in, specifically split window
functions. They've been reasonable to work with so I expect the standalone
version will work out fine.

"Colin Burgess" <cburgess@qnx.com> wrote in message
news:dv9a6s$jd$1@inn.qnx.com...
BTW - sorry if I led you down the garden path. I haven't used it, just
heard about it.
I know a lot of guys who really like the standalone.

Ken Schumm wrote:
I've decided to uninstall it and see if they will trade me for the
standalone version. I've had so many problems with it I don't feel it's
trustworthy. A guy has to trust his editor.

"Kevin Stallard" <kevin@a.com> wrote in message
news:dv7i6k$ck1$1@inn.qnx.com...

Yeah, I got it working on 3.1 (Momentecs and slickedit). I haven't used

it

enough to see wether or not its going to pull stunts like this on me. I
have to say, that they still have a ways to go wtih the eclipse

integration.

I like most of what they've done, but its still kind of hard to use in

some

cases.

I'll be using it a lot here in the next day or so, so I'll give you my
feedback on it soon I'm sure....

Kevin


kwschumm
Senior Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:46 pm


Return to qnx.cafe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest