Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Read-only archive of qnx.cafe (generail discussion forum) at inn.qnx.com

How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby liut » Mon Jun 26, 2006 6:58 am

Pls tell me how to open cad files in QNX 2.x?
Have any 3rd party products to open it?
liut
 

RE: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby maschoen » Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:01 pm

The dumb answer, is with fopen(). That is how you open any file in QNX 2.x. Were you hoping for a utility to read a "cad" file that understands the format? Well I don't know what you mean by that. Do you mean some specific format of file, maybe one that has the form *.cad?
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby liut » Wed Jun 28, 2006 1:39 am

Because I want to draw building map. I have these file drawed by Autocad. So
I hoping for a utility to read or translate the Autocad file or bmp file.
liut
 

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Colin Burgess » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:03 am

Do you mean DXF files?

There is no native QNX lib to do this, but as per

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASCII_Draw ... ile_format

you can read the spec for DXF files here

http://www.autodesk.com/dxf

We used to use DXF files back in the day, I don't remember them being too complex.

And if you have them converted to BMP (and there are plenty of free utils out there
to do that) then it's not a big deal to draw a BMP.

What display system are you using?


liut wrote:
Because I want to draw building map. I have these file drawed by Autocad. So
I hoping for a utility to read or translate the Autocad file or bmp file.

Colin Burgess
 

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Thunderblade » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:14 pm

Are you really using a QNX 2.x system? What are you using it for?

"liut" <liut@stee.stengg.com.cn> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:e7o0f5$81g$1@inn.qnx.com...
Pls tell me how to open cad files in QNX 2.x?
Have any 3rd party products to open it?

Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Joan Baucells » Wed Jun 28, 2006 3:05 pm

QNX2 doesn't work with current hardware (I guess they stopped working
with first original Pentium CPUs).
So what hardware are you using?
Have you reserved some spare hardware parts?

Malte Mundt wrote:

Are you really using a QNX 2.x system? What are you using it for?

"liut" <liut@stee.stengg.com.cn> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:e7o0f5$81g$1@inn.qnx.com...
Pls tell me how to open cad files in QNX 2.x?
Have any 3rd party products to open it?

Joan Baucells
 

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Mario Charest » Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:14 pm

"Joan Baucells" <"Joan Baucells"@NoSpam.es> wrote in message
news:44A29A9D.3B59FC42@NoSpam.es...
QNX2 doesn't work with current hardware (I guess they stopped working
with first original Pentium CPUs).
So what hardware are you using?
Have you reserved some spare hardware parts?

You can still get 386 board no problem. Of course if one was using 386
desktop machine that's a problem, but in the industrial world that's not
that big of an issue. Google it up and you'll find plenty.

I even found some cards with 186 ;)

Malte Mundt wrote:

Are you really using a QNX 2.x system? What are you using it for?

"liut" <liut@stee.stengg.com.cn> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:e7o0f5$81g$1@inn.qnx.com...
Pls tell me how to open cad files in QNX 2.x?
Have any 3rd party products to open it?


Mario Charest
 

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Sean Boudreau » Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:28 pm

Mario Charest <postmaster@127.0.0.1> wrote:

"Joan Baucells" <"Joan Baucells"@NoSpam.es> wrote in message
news:44A29A9D.3B59FC42@NoSpam.es...
QNX2 doesn't work with current hardware (I guess they stopped working
with first original Pentium CPUs).
So what hardware are you using?
Have you reserved some spare hardware parts?

You can still get 386 board no problem. Of course if one was using 386
desktop machine that's a problem, but in the industrial world that's not
that big of an issue. Google it up and you'll find plenty.

I even found some cards with 186 ;)

People have used QNX2 on pentium I, II, III ... successfully.
One big issue was with floppies. YMMV.

-seanb
Sean Boudreau
 

RE: Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby maschoen » Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:23 pm

A couple comments.

There is no QNX 2 utility that I know of that will read AutoCAD files. You might find a free utility with source somewhere that you can port to QNX 2. Either that, or a file format specification will make it possible. It does seem a little bizzare that you would be using QNX 2 to do this now.

QNX 2 will work with Pentium Class processors. They are backward compatible with 486's etc.
The big problem is the speed of the processor, of which there are two classes of problems. The main one is the floppy disk driver. I have a 333Mhz PII laptop that works fine with QNX 2, but to load it I had to turn off the processor caches to load it. Once loaded, it works fine at full speed without floppy access, or at a very slow speed with the cache disabled.

The second speed problem is related to the QNX 2 QNET. There is a race condition bug where using fast processors you get half closed virtual circuits. Eventually you can lose all of this resource, and the network will no longer work until you reboot. There was a utility around at one time to clean this up, but I didn't have good luck with it.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: How to open cad files in QNX 2.x

Postby Mario Charest » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:25 pm

"Sean Boudreau" <seanb@qnx.com> wrote in message
news:e7uaoa$lsu$1@inn.qnx.com...
Mario Charest <postmaster@127.0.0.1> wrote:

"Joan Baucells" <"Joan Baucells"@NoSpam.es> wrote in message
news:44A29A9D.3B59FC42@NoSpam.es...
QNX2 doesn't work with current hardware (I guess they stopped working
with first original Pentium CPUs).
So what hardware are you using?
Have you reserved some spare hardware parts?

You can still get 386 board no problem. Of course if one was using 386
desktop machine that's a problem, but in the industrial world that's not
that big of an issue. Google it up and you'll find plenty.

I even found some cards with 186 ;)

People have used QNX2 on pentium I, II, III ... successfully.
One big issue was with floppies. YMMV.

It also works in VMWare and I had no problem with floppy.

-seanb
Mario Charest
 


Return to qnx.cafe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest