Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Discussions, suggestions, requests about this website.

Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Tue Apr 26, 2016 1:46 pm

Hello

I am trying to install momentics 6.2.1. I received 2 CD's one for standard edition and another for professional edition for winxp OS.
1.After installing CD1 SE , there is no IDE in start menu.
2.What settings shall be done for Env variable and makeflags in QNX momentics configuration.
3.Where shall i find qconfig.

Thanks & Regards
L.Subbaraman
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Tue Apr 26, 2016 2:26 pm

http://www.qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. ... hatis.html

There are two versions of QNX Momentics: the Standard Edition (SE) and the Professional Edition (PE). PE includes everything that's in SE, as well as our Integrated Development Environment. For Windows hosts, PE also includes the Rational ROSE Adaptation Layer as well as Phindows ("Photon in Windows").


That answers why you have no IDE when you installed the SE.

You should still be able to compile from the command line. Have you tried that?

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:50 pm

Hello Thanks for the reply.

I am trying to use the command line.
I already have a work space based on QNX 6.3.0 server (linux based).
The same work space if i use in QNX 6.2.1 momentics environment. its not building. I had set the env for QNX_HOST and QNX_target.
what are the settings has to be done in Makeflags , QNX_HOST and QNX_Target ?
Do i need cygwin to be installed ?
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:03 pm

I'm not familiar with the Linux install of Momentics. But normally the Momentic's install takes care of installing everything you need so that you don't have to go downloading and installing something else.

What error(s) are you getting?

When you say you have a 6.3 workspace, does that mean you have both 6.3 AND 6.2.1 installed on the same machine? Or are you saying you have a 6.3 workspace from another machine/repository copied to your Linux machine where you have 6.2.1 installed and you are trying to build that?

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:12 am

I have a work space built in 6.3.0 (QNX server) and i want to use the same work space in 6.2.1 (Momentics windows host). Both versions are installed in different PC's
The error is
C:/DOCUME~1/ADMINI~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/make30882.sh: line 1: `echo "MAKECMDGOALS is "; echo "CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is ../../../make/config/DEFAULT.config"; for d in ; do (cd $d; e:/QNXsdk/host/win32/x86/usr/bin/make.exe; TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then exit $TEMP; fi); TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then exit $TEMP; fi; echo "$d built successfully" ; done'

Thanks
Subram
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:16 am

Complete error description follows
make -f Makefile
echo "MAKECMDGOALS is "; \
echo "CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is ../make/config/DEFAULT.config"; \
for d in baseband/2035; \
do \
(cd $d; e:/QNXsdk/host/win32/x86/usr/bin/make.exe; TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $TEMP; fi); \
TEMP=$?; \
if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $TEMP; \
fi; \
echo "$d built successfully" ;\
done
MAKECMDGOALS is
CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is ../make/config/DEFAULT.config
e:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin\make.exe[1]: Entering directory `e:/Ref/TEL_BCH/src/'
echo "MAKECMDGOALS is "; \
echo "CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is ../../../make/config/DEFAULT.config"; \
for d in ; \
do \
(cd $d; e:/QNXsdk/host/win32/x86/usr/bin/make.exe; TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $TEMP; fi); \
TEMP=$?; \
if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $TEMP; \
fi; \
echo "$d built successfully" ;\
done
C:/DOCUME~1/ADMINI~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/make30882.sh: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `;'
C:/DOCUME~1/ADMINI~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/make30882.sh: line 1: `echo "MAKECMDGOALS is "; echo "CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is ../../../make/config/DEFAULT.config"; for d in ; do (cd $d; e:/QNXsdk/host/win32/x86/usr/bin/make.exe; TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then exit $TEMP; fi); TEMP=$?; if [ $TEMP != 0 ]; then exit $TEMP; fi; echo "$d built successfully" ; done'
e:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin\make.exe[1]: *** [all_subdirs] Error 258
e:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin\make.exe[1]: Leaving directory `e:/Ref/TEL_BCH/src/'
e:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin\make.exe: *** [all_subdirs] Error 2
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:01 pm

Just so I am clear, your 6.3 server build is in Linux and this 6.2.1 install is in Windows. Shouldn't make any difference but it's clear from what I see above that the 6.2.1 install is in Windows.

Is there any other compiler installed on your Windows machine (Visual studio etc). There was (still might be?) conflicts with multiple compilers in Windows in terms of 'Make'. What happens is the QNX make gets put later in in the 'path' than the other compiler so the wrong make executable is used.

From a command prompt if you type 'path', what do you see? You may need to adjust your path to put the QNX make earlier in the path (which may break your other compilers).

If that's *not* the problem then it appears MAKECMDGOALS is evaluating to ';' which doesn't make sense. What is MAKECMDGOALS supposed to be.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:57 am

To valdate the build in QNX 6.2.1 momentics in windows host
I tried a simple hello world program and compiled in QNX command shell
qcc -V gcc_ntox86 hello.c -o hello.
This generated exe (hello). But when i run "hello" it says command not found and for ./hello it says no such file or directory.

The env settings
QNX_HOST E:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86
QNX_TARGET E:\QNXsdk\target\qnx6
PATH E:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin\cygwin_dll;E:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\usr\bin;E:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\etc\qcc
QNX_CONFIGURATION:E:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\etc\qcc
MAKEFLAGS:-IE:\QNXsdk\host\win32\x86\etc\qcc.

Is there any problem in env settings ?????
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Mon May 02, 2016 1:51 pm

You can not run QNX executables on a Windows host.

You need a QNX machine. If you don't know how to create one of those, there are some VMWare images available on QNX's website.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Thu May 12, 2016 4:15 pm

Hi,
Now I tried to compile the complete workspace in qnx 621 , but unable to invoke makefile in sub dir from main make file. SUB_DIRS=APP1 APP2 . the same make file compile in qnx630.for windows host how to configure sub dirs in make file
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Thu May 12, 2016 9:41 pm

Without seeing the Makefile AND knowing your directory structure it's impossible to say why it's not working.

Obviously something is different between the 2 machines.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Fri May 13, 2016 9:07 am

1.Make file
ROOT_DIR=..
SUB_DIRS = lib bin
include ${ROOT_DIR}/make/variables.mk

all: all_subdirs

install: install_subdirs

clean: clean_subdirs

include ${ROOT_DIR}/make/targets.mk

2.Target.mk

.PHONY: clean all install

all_subdirs:
#echo "MAKECMDGOALS is $(MAKECMDGOALS)"; \
echo "CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE is $(CONFIG_INCLUDE_FILE)"; \
for d in $(SUB_DIRS); \
do \
(cd $$d; $(MAKE); TEMP=$$?; if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $$TEMP; fi); \
TEMP=$$?; \
if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $$TEMP; \
fi; \
echo "$$d built successfully" ;\
done

clean_subdirs:
#for d in $(SUB_DIRS); \
do \
(cd $$d; $(MAKE) clean; TEMP=$$?; if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $$TEMP; fi); \
TEMP=$$?; \
if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
echo "Error cleaning $$d" ;\
exit $$TEMP; \
fi;\
echo "$$d cleaned successfully" ;\
done

install_subdirs:
#for d in $(SUB_DIRS); \
do \
(cd $$d; $(MAKE) install; TEMP=$$?; if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $$TEMP; fi); \
TEMP=$$?; \
if [ $$TEMP != 0 ]; then \
exit $$TEMP; \
fi; \
echo "$$d installed successfully" ;\
done

# Define how to produce ".o" files from ".c" files
$(TARGET)/%.o : %.c
mkdir -p $(TARGET)
$(CC) -c $(CFLAGS) $(INCPATH) $(OTHER_CFLAGS) $< -o $@

$(TARGET)/%.d: %.c
mkdir -p $(TARGET)
set -e; $(CC) -E -Wp,-MM $(CFLAGS) $(INCPATH) $(OTHER_CFLAGS) $< | sed 's/$*\.o/$(TARGET)\/$*\.o $(TARGET)\/$*\.d/g' > $@ || rm -f $@

${TARGET}/%.o: %.s
mkdir -p $(TARGET)
$(CC) -c $(AFLAGS) $< -o $@

ifneq ($(MAKECMDGOALS), clean)
ifneq ($(ALL_OBJS),)
-include $(ALL_OBJS:.o=.d)
endif
endif


Here for d in $(SUB_DIRS); is not invoked properly in windows QNX host.
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Mon May 16, 2016 1:39 pm

Just a total wild guess.

If the original files came from a Linux machine and you transferred them to your Windows one did you transform the Linux LF to a Windows CR/LF? If not, that may be why 'Make' is complaining.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby subram_QNX » Mon May 16, 2016 5:17 pm

Please explain more about this, means I have to modify the makefiles to remove the new line feeds ??? How to do this any examples ??
subram_QNX
Active Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:48 am

Re: Installing Momentics 6.2.1

Postby Tim » Mon May 16, 2016 6:37 pm

The 'textto' command does this for you. It should have been installed as part of the QNX development environment.

textto -c 'filename' will convert Unix files to DOS format
textto -l 'filename' will convert DOS files to Unix format
textto -z 'filename' will remove CTRL-Z from a file.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Next

Return to OpenQNX Site

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests