Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Unable to Boot QNX 6.3.2 after installation

Unable to Boot QNX 6.3.2 after installation

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

Unable to Boot QNX 6.3.2 after installation

Postby praveen.peddi » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:58 pm

Hi,

I'm new to qnx and i'm facing few issues in booting QNX 6.3.2.

Issue: I've installed QNX 6.3.2 and after finishing the installation it asked me to remove the CD from CD-ROM and restart the machine. After restarting the machine it tries to boot from Hard disk and hangs showing the below

"Generating helpviewer search index"

I'm not sure whats going wrong and i need some help regarding it.

Thanks,
Praveen Peddi.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby Tim » Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:53 pm

Praveen,

How long did you wait for the 'hang' to go away? It can take a couple minutes to generate the index if your CPU is slow and/or your HD/CF card is slow.

Also, what kind of machine are you installing on (CPU, Ram. HD/CF size)

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby praveen.peddi » Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:31 pm

Tim wrote:Praveen,

How long did you wait for the 'hang' to go away? It can take a couple minutes to generate the index if your CPU is slow and/or your HD/CF card is slow.

Also, what kind of machine are you installing on (CPU, Ram. HD/CF size)

Tim


Hi Tim,

Thanks for your response. I had waited for more than 30 minutes after it displayed that message,I'm installing it on Pentium machine. Ram=256MB, HDD=40GB.

It starts booting and then at one point it says "Generating helpviewer search index" and thats it, it hangs over there.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby juanplacco » Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:16 pm

30 minutes seems to be enough. While QNX is "Generating helpviewer search index", did you notice the hard drive (led) working?... Or your system is totally idle?...

I don't remember been waiting for so long...

How many times did you try?

Regards,
JM
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

Postby Tim » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:40 pm

Praveen,

I am of course assuming you are doing a full install of the Momentics Development suite (ie the compiler etc) as opposed to just the QNX O/S.

If that's the case, it may take more than 30 minutes on your machine (when you say pentium, I am assuming an original pentium that's running at say 200 Mhz , not a PII, PIII, PIV etc) to generate the HelpViewer index because it's setting everything up for a full development installation and you have limited RAM and a slow processor.

You might want to let it run overnight and see what happens.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby praveen.peddi » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:24 pm

Hi Tim/JM,

I will run it overnight and i will see if it helps me. I am installing a full qnx OS.

My hard disk lite shows idle, It doesn't blink and it and my hard disk stays idle. I tried it for more than 5 to 8 times.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby praveen.peddi » Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:24 pm

praveen.peddi wrote:Hi Tim/JM,

I will run it overnight and i will see if it helps me. I am installing a full qnx OS.

My hard disk lite shows idle, It doesn't blink and it and my hard disk stays idle. I tried it for more than 5 to 8 times.


Hi Tim,

Today whne i came and tried booting the QNX, I've found this message where it's getting strucked. "Trying SATA mvSata. Scanning for devices....."

I am unable to see "Generating helpviwer search index" where it used to struck earlier.

What could be the problem and how can i proceed further, and coming to H/W info..I'm using P4 machine with 2.2GH Processor and 256 MB RAM, 40 GB Harddisk.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby juanplacco » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:03 pm

It seems a hardarwe/BIOS problem... don't you have other machine (even virtual) to try? Don't you have anonther QNX image?

But I think is hardware or BIOS configuration... PnP OS is: NO, isn't it? (it is requested by the QNX installation instruction)

mmm... I don't know what else could be...

Juan Manuel
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

Postby Tim » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:21 pm

Praveen,

This means QNX can't locate the hard drive.

What kind of hard drive is in this machine? Is it a SATA drive or an IDE? Do you see the hard drive detected at all by QNX during the IDE scan or SATA scan for devices?

If you have a SATA drive make sure that you have the BIOS set to run SATA compatibility in legacy mode.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby praveen.peddi » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:29 pm

Tim wrote:Praveen,

This means QNX can't locate the hard drive.

What kind of hard drive is in this machine? Is it a SATA drive or an IDE? Do you see the hard drive detected at all by QNX during the IDE scan or SATA scan for devices?

If you have a SATA drive make sure that you have the BIOS set to run SATA compatibility in legacy mode.

Tim


Tim,

I have IDE Hard drive in the machine,I see the Hard drive detected in BIOS and also i installed QNX on the same Hard drive earlier when i posted this query, at that time i was able to install but unable to boot and it used to hang saying "Generating Help Veiwer search index".

But today i'm facing some different problems when i try to reinstall it again, i was able to install windows XP on the same hard drive as i wanted to check whether the problem is with Hard drive or some thing else.

But when i try to install QNX 6.3.2, it starts booting from CD and then it hangs after some time showing the below message,

Press the space bar to input boot options or D to disable DMA
Trying SATA ahci. Scanning for devices.
Trying EIDE. Scanning for devices
\

It hangs and never finds the devices.

I'm not sure of what's going wrong. Please let me know how to proceed further.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby Tim » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:27 pm

Praveen,

There must be something unusual about the hardware in your machine that makes it 'non-standard'. What exactly is in this machine besides the harddrive and CD (which I also assume is an IDE device). Can you list all the devices and how they are located on the IDE connectors in the BIOS.

Try pressing the 'D' key to disable DMA transfers and see if that detects the Harddrive.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby praveen.peddi » Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:04 pm

Tim wrote:Praveen,

There must be something unusual about the hardware in your machine that makes it 'non-standard'. What exactly is in this machine besides the harddrive and CD (which I also assume is an IDE device). Can you list all the devices and how they are located on the IDE connectors in the BIOS.

Try pressing the 'D' key to disable DMA transfers and see if that detects the Harddrive.

Tim


Hi Tim,

Even i'm not sure what's unusual is there.I have a Primary HDD IDE and a CDROM, In BIOS i set CDROM as primary boot and HDD as secondary for booting from CD.

I even tried by pressing 'D' key to disable DMA transfers, But left helpless...

Any suggestions..??

Thanks,
Praveen Peddi
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby Tim » Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:14 pm

Praveen,

How is the cabling connected inside the machine. Is the CD and HD on the same IDE cable? I'd suggest putting the HD and CD on different IDE cables if they are already not setup that way. This could cause issues if both are on the same IDE cable and are jumpered as master devices.

Are there any options you can set for the IDE controller in the BIOS?

You might try swapping in another CD-Rom drive if you have one.

If you can't get it to work you may just have to give up and try on another machine with the assumption that something hardware wise is incompatible (either the Motherboard or CD-Rom or Harddrive).

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Postby praveen.peddi » Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:58 am

Tim wrote:Praveen,

How is the cabling connected inside the machine. Is the CD and HD on the same IDE cable? I'd suggest putting the HD and CD on different IDE cables if they are already not setup that way. This could cause issues if both are on the same IDE cable and are jumpered as master devices.

Are there any options you can set for the IDE controller in the BIOS?

You might try swapping in another CD-Rom drive if you have one.

If you can't get it to work you may just have to give up and try on another machine with the assumption that something hardware wise is incompatible (either the Motherboard or CD-Rom or Harddrive).

Tim


Hi Tim,

Thanks for your help, I've rearranged the cabling in my machine and kept the HDD on one IDE and CD-ROM on another IDE and was bale to re-install the QNX 6.3.2. It got installed and at it is again strucked at "Generating Help veiwer search index". I left the machine on that prompt for more than 4 Hours, But it still displays the same message.

Is there any more troubleshooting to be done.

Thanks,
Praveen Peddi.
praveen.peddi
Active Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby juanplacco » Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:59 pm

Don't you have other PC ?
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

Next

Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests