Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - QNX 3.21 on failing hard drive - image won't boot

QNX 3.21 on failing hard drive - image won't boot

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

Postby maschoen » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:17 pm

There is a BIOS included with VMWare (Virtual of course) that you could try changing the geometry on. Mario, VMWare most definitely does support a parallel port. In order to transfer over my QNX 2 system I used it with my Parallel Port Iomega Zip driver to transfer the data. The only reasonable way I could figure out. No CD Rom's in QNX 2 and floppies would take forever.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Postby mario » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:20 pm

Just checked and you're right. Thanks for correcting me!
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Postby Kiciu » Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:54 pm

I was watching this topic for some time becouse recently I had the same problem. I solved it using VMWare and DiskCopy 2.0. In my case I tried to copy QNX system from old CF disk 64MB (CHS(7,255,63) and 128128 total sectors) to 4GB CF disk (CHS(7818,16,63) and total sectors 7880544). To do this I used VMWare 6.5.1 and bootable CD with DiskCopy2.0. I did it like this:

1. First I created virtual machine in VMWare and I created exactly the same disk like 4GB CF card. I created disk using this command:
C:\Program Files\VMware\VMware Workstation>vmware-vdiskmanager.exe -c -s 7880544 -a ide -t 2 my4GBdisk.vmdk
This command created 4GB disk with 7880544 total sectors on it.

2. Next I modified my4GBdisk.vmdk file. Instead of this:

# Extent description
RW 7880544 FLAT "my4GBdisk-flat.vmdk" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.toolsVersion = "0"
ddb.virtualHWVersion = "6"
ddb.uuid = "60 00 C2 9c 41 37 63 0a-d3 50 d0 d7 7c 3a 66 ad"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "7818"
ddb.geometry.heads = "16"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"
ddb.adapterType = "ide"

I entered this (parameters from my source 64MB CF disk):

# Extent description
RW 128128 FLAT "my4GBdisk-flat.vmdk" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.toolsVersion = "0"
ddb.virtualHWVersion = "6"
ddb.uuid = "60 00 C2 9c 41 37 63 0a-d3 50 d0 d7 7c 3a 66 ad"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "7"
ddb.geometry.heads = "255"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"
ddb.adapterType = "ide"

After that I received virtual machine with the disk exactly like my source 64MB disk with QNX system.

3. Then I started virtual machine and in BIOS I set User disk with CHS(7,255,63) on it.
4. I restarted VM again and from CD I boot DiskCopy 2.0. I attached to this VM via USB also my source 64MB CF disk. Then I made disk copy using DiskCopy2.0
5. After that I restarted VM again and boot from disk. QNX started without any problems.
6. I turned off virtual machine and I modified my4GBdisk.vmdk. I entered the same parameters like I had at the beggining.
7. I started VM from DiskCopy 2.0 CD and this time I copied VM disk to 4GB CF card connected via USB.

After that I've got working QNX system on new 4GB CF disk.
Kiciu
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:42 am

Postby irock85 » Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:00 pm

OK, I got it working with VMWare! I actually was able to use ghost instead of the dd command, but both ways work. I was able to create a virtual 2GB drive very similar to the failing drive, then go into the virtual bios and change the geometry to exactly what it should be for the failing drive.

THEN, I imaged the virtual drive with ghost and it was finally able to boot. Now I just have to get the dotmatrix printer working with vmware...
irock85
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:31 pm

Postby maschoen » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:37 am

There shouldn't be much more to getting the dot matrix working than turning on the parallel port.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Postby JDInfinity » Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:39 pm

irock85,

how did you image the dd image to the vmdk the first time?

Although this now is solved somehow..

Maybe your imager messed it up or you might have to change the disk controller type that vmware emulates. It's not all and everything about disk geometry.

Last time I rescued, converted and started a image it was not that much of a problem.

Why do you run qnx inside of vmware? It's not going to be realtime that way, is it? If vmware won't do - there are plenty equivalent virtualisation solutions out there. one might just boot it with no extra efforts.

Regards
Last edited by JDInfinity on Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JDInfinity
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:50 pm

Postby JDInfinity » Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:50 pm

Another approach would be to use a good boot loader and try what's possible. What would happen if you utilize grub or something to boot your partitions when your BIOS fails to boot it.

Install your ubuntu to your 10 GB hdd and put your 20 GB (with 2GB image dd to it) and set up grub to show the options to boot up the old stuff on your image.

Post some working config files if you succeed with it ;)
JDInfinity
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:50 pm

Previous

Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest