Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:24 pm

I have a customer running QNX 2 with an application written for QNX Windows. He has no development environment but wants to make some changes. I've checked with QNX in Ottawa and the development system is no longer available. Does anyone have this software and/or documentation?

Thanks
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby mario » Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:02 pm

Of all people I would have though you'd be the guardian of such things, lol!

Wish I could help but sorry, never even laid my eyes on this prehistoric beast :lol:
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:07 pm

mario wrote:Of all people I would have though you'd be the guardian of such things, lol!

Wish I could help but sorry, never even laid my eyes on this prehistoric beast :lol:



Mario,

Bizzarre to say so, but I would have thought so too. I had the docs once, and I think a runtime. I don't know how I let it go.

Mitchell
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby Tim » Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:15 pm

What about contacting Basis Computer systems (Frank Kolnick) and seeing if he still has copies for sale.

I last developed in QNX windows on QNX2 in 1993 after which we started developing everything in QNX windows on QNX 4. The company I worked for at the time was Atlantis Aerospace based in Brampton, Ontario. If you are desperate, I can email a person I know who still works there and ask if there they have old development environment disks + doc's lying around someplace in storage.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Tue Mar 12, 2013 5:51 pm

Tim,

I would say we are pretty desperate. QNX does not supply this product anymore. The mitigation factor is that I don't know if having the stuff will help.

Mitchell
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby Tim » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:06 am

OK, I've sent the email to my friend. Lets see what happens.

In the mean time I looked through all my old personal stuff from that era and I found something that says the QNX windows development was available through Klondike Software in Nepean, Ontario (they also sold FreezeIt for taking screen captures if you recall that product). Googling around I found they still exist with the same phone number:

http://ottawa.enquira.ca/computers-tech ... l3811.html

It's a *real* long shot but since you are desperate you might want to give them a call and see if they still have any for sale.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

Thanks,

I'll give them a call tomorrow. I used to know someone at the company, but can't remember their name.

Mitchell
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby Tim » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:46 pm

Mitchell,

Sorry, no go. My friend reported that they threw it all out years ago.

I'm honestly shocked every time I see someone still running something in QNX2. I bet the amount of money they have to pay to find hardware that still works and your time to make it work should pay for an upgrade to at least QNX4. QNX Windows is still quasi supported there and I recall there being a migration kit for QNX Windows (I saw a torrent of it when I was googling around) and using it 20 years ago to bring our QNX Windows stuff from QNX2 to QNX4. It wasn't particularly difficult.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:49 pm

The problem is that they didn't write the software.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby Tim » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:19 pm

I understood that from the initial post where you need the development environment.

But are you saying they don't have the source code either? In which case any modification = rewrite from scratch anyway so why not rewrite in QNX 4 or 6 since the application can't be that complex given what computer limits were on CPU/Ram in those days.

Also depending on the application and how old it is, it might have been written with the C86 compiler or the original QNX compiler that was only 16 bit and could only address 64K of Ram (that's what I recall using with QNX Windows). But you know all that already since you know QNX2.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: Looking for QNX 2 Windows development

Postby maschoen » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:37 pm

Tim wrote:I understood that from the initial post where you need the development environment.


That's right. In context to my other comments, I understand how this could be confusing.
They don't want to change the application. They want to be able to automatically control it through the GUI, by moving the mouse and pressing mouse buttons through software. I've been led to believe that this is possible by someone who should know. This would require the development system and documentation.

But are you saying they don't have the source code either? In which case any modification = rewrite from scratch anyway


I hope I've explained this confusion.

so why not rewrite in QNX 4 or 6 since the application can't be that complex given what computer limits were on CPU/Ram in those days.


The QNX computers control hardware. There is no documentation on how this works. Reverse engineering doesn't seem likely. The company that built the machine is long gone. The client is stuck with the existing software. The cost to replace this hardware is in the 7-8 figure area.

Also depending on the application and how old it is, it might have been written with the C86 compiler or the original QNX compiler that was only 16 bit and could only address 64K of Ram (that's what I recall using with QNX Windows). But you know all that already since you know QNX2.


C86 hasn't come up as an issue yet. I still have a running C86 if becomes necessary.

Thanks for your input.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm


Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests