Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

For the old QNX2 and QNX4 RTOS

Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

Postby dr3kdj » Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:29 pm

Hi,

I have a moxa serial card with 8 485 serial ports, im using Dev.ser to drive these ports, but all i get is the Tx led flash when i send data, im not receiving anything, im directly connecting port 1 to port 2 of the same card just for testing.. is Dev.ser capable of driving 485 ports?


Is there any generic driver for 485 like Dev.ser ?

thanks.
dr3kdj
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

Postby mario » Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:07 pm

There are various ways of handling 485 and it would be hard ( not impossible ) to do a generic diver for 485. The best card will handle 485 totally in hardware.

If it doesn't you might to deal with it by software which is painfull, or you write your own driver. Do a search on this topic, this has been discuss many time in the past.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Re: Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

Postby dr3kdj » Fri Jun 07, 2013 4:47 pm

mario wrote:There are various ways of handling 485 and it would be hard ( not impossible ) to do a generic diver for 485. The best card will handle 485 totally in hardware.

If it doesn't you might to deal with it by software which is painfull, or you write your own driver. Do a search on this topic, this has been discuss many time in the past.


Thank you for your reply, i did search for 485 and qnx with no success on this forum but i'll try again .
dr3kdj
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Dev.ser for 485 serial ports

Postby Pilotek » Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:37 am

Serial multiport cards are:
- "dumb" (non-intelligent) - they are managed in QNX4 in a standard manner (address/irq) as standard Ser1 and Ser2 (3F8,4 2F8,3... Ser3 e.g. 3E8,5 Ser4 e.g. 3E8,7...), you must set addresses/irqs by manner of HW jumpers or some newer cards had MS-DOS utility diskette to set the individual port parameters,
- intelligent - they have own processor and require driver for QNX4. I know that CTI once made Intellicon ISA multiport cards with QNX4 drivers.

I succeeded only with ISA multiport cards under QNX4.
Pilotek
Senior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:52 pm


Return to QNX2 and QNX4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests