Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - QNX6 new file system still fails ?

QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Discussion about the QNX6 OS.

QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:13 pm

I'm still having problems with the new file-system in 6.4. After a power failure some programs (apache server for example) doesn't start properly because "corruped file system detected" is detected :) for example in logs files...

It doesn't happen with mysql files, but still fails with others (apache)...

I'm not sure what's going on with the new COW FS.

Can somebody give me some idea :idea: ?

Thanks!
JM
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby mario » Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:05 pm

Maybe the hardware you are using cannot meet your requirement.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:14 pm

It's an Advantech Industrial PC, x86 architecture, nothing outside this world...

Something like this:

http://origindownload.advantech.com//Pr ... 0MB_DS.pdf

I don't think in a hardware problem...

What could be wrong? Any idea?

Thanks!
JM
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby mario » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:26 pm

The disk you use is critical.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby maschoen » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:32 pm

If you power down without first shutting Apache down, it may leave log files in an unacceptable state. The solution is to run chkfsys at startup. In the worst case you might have to "zap" some log files. MySQL uses a special procedure to protect against an inconsistent database during an unscheduled power loss. It does this at a significant lost of speed, but then it is your data it is protecting.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:46 pm

Thanks for feedback!... As I mentioned in other topic we run chkfsys always as standard start-up configuration from boot image (with unmounted partition) in order to repair the FS. That is what we are doing in QNX 6.3... My (wrong) asumption was that the new QNX6 FS would not need to perform chkfsys. But is not the case.

Everything shows me that QNX6 FS still needs always to run chkfsys at startup sequence.

Thanks again!
JM
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby mario » Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:07 am

No fs-qnx6 doesn`t not need chkfsys. In fact I`m pretty sure it`s not supported.


Also you disk must suppor the sync command otherwise the fs-qnx6 can`t do what it`s suppose to.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby Thunderblade » Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:40 am

Let me guess! You are using a Compact Flash!
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:26 pm

So, the problem is much worse!... If chkfsys does not repair the FS, who does?. If there are open files when the power goes down, it MUST be a secure method to restart with no problem... so I really hope chkfsys repairs the FS in this cases, if not, we are in troubles... aren't we?
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby mario » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:43 am

First are you using fs-qnx4.so or fs-qnx6.so.

If it`s fs-qnx4.so then hopefully chkfsys will do the job. If it`s fs-qnx6.so try chkqnx6fs. But there is what chkqnx6fs doc says:

You shouldn't actually need to use chkqnx6fs in a production system (e.g. in a boot script). The design of the fs-qnx6 filesystem should (in the absence of software bugs, physical bad blocks, or malicious data modification on the raw device) make any such check unnecessary.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby stever » Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:58 pm

Be sure that your hardware has the correct properties for the Power-Safe filesystem:

http://www.qnx.com/developers/docs/6.4. ... properties
stever
QNX Master
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:04 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:35 am

I had already read those notes about fs-qnx6.so, and I have still many doubts the benefits of it, in (our) real world. You've seen the hardware we use, nothing strange. You said I've to go deeper on the hardware, but actually I have no hope it helps...

From the docs:

The Power-Safe filesystem was designed for and is intended for traditional rotating hard disk drive media.

That's all what we have!. Maybe I have to investigate some file system options...

JM
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby Thunderblade » Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:48 pm

Maybe your hard disk does have some data caching and claims 'data written' to the driver while the data actually is still in the device cache.
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

RE: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby juanplacco » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:16 pm

If that were the case, there should be no problem.

If the file system goes from one safe state to another safe state, I could lose some data (data in cache)... but NO to have the disk in an unsecure state (so some procceses doesn't start ok after a power-loss)...

So, what is the real problem? Why my hard disk information is not well consolidated?

According to docs, my device has to support FLUSH/SYNC command. How can I know this ?
juanplacco
Senior Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 2:30 pm

Re: QNX6 new file system still fails ?

Postby ganesan » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:40 am

hi i am having qnx4 file system . i have to change qnx6 power safe file system . can u please tell how to update my file system .

regards,
ganesan
ganesan
Active Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:27 am


Return to QNX6 - OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest