Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Discussion about the QNX6 OS.

QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby jucaross » Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:16 am

Hi everybody!

QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 supports MultiCore?

If no, is there some way to change this?
Or if it has, how can I see the cores in the System Monitor and use them?

Thanks in advance!
jucaross
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:37 pm

RE: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby mario » Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:47 pm

Yes, you should have the smp image availabie in /boot/fs/qnxbasesmp. Replace /.boot with that file and reboot.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

RE: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby jucaross » Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:10 pm

Where can I find the smp image?
Could you post the step-by-step?

tks
jucaross
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:37 pm

RE: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby maschoen » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:06 pm

# cd /boot/fs
# ls
. qnxbase.ifs qnxbasesmp.ifs
.. qnxbasedma.ifs
# cp qnxbasesmp.ifs /.boot
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

RE: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby jucaross » Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:38 am

Hello Maschoen

I did the steps you sent and I've received the message below:

cp: A source and destination must be specified.
jucaross
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:37 pm

RE: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby jucaross » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:19 pm

Sorry man!

I restart the RTOS and did the command again...

SUCCESS!!!!!!!

TKS a LOT!
jucaross
Active Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:37 pm

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby mohsh86 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:55 pm

what about the Neutrino QNX 6.3.2 RTOS, not the development SDP version ?

is it possible to have multicore support ?

i've tried copying the qnxbasesmp.build or .ifs file and do both cp or mkifs but it didn't work..

am using virtual box 4.1.2
mohsh86
Active Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby maschoen » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:27 pm

I'm not sure what your question is, but here goes.

Yes you can customize a QNX 6.3.2 boot file with multi-core.
Some of the older versions of QNX required you to buy the multi-core support separately.
I don't think 6.3.2 was one of them, but I could be wrong.
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby mario » Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:27 pm

Nope 6.3.2 required the purchase of the multicore TDK in order to build kernel images with the SMP support.

If my memory is right it was more expensive then a complete 6.5.0 dev seat.
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby Tim » Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:56 pm

Mario,

Actually 6.3.2 supports Multi-core out of the box. We switched our run time licenses to 6.3.2 simply to use Multi-core even though our dev seats are 6.3.0.

It's 6.3.0 (including SP3) that requires the special extra license that costs 10K.

Mohsh86,

Even if you do enable multi-core support, does the virtual machine create the illusion of multi-cores? If not, you won't ever be able to see the multi-core in effect. The easiest way is in Photon when you can see multiple CPU's shown in the System Monitor window.

Tim
Tim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:28 am

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby mohsh86 » Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:25 am

i'll take my chances, i'll use virtualbox or kvm-qemu or a real host. my question is how to enable and support the multiple core on QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 ?

shall i copy the qnxbasesmp.build from the QNX SDP 6.3.2 ? what i am missing ?

am getting the CPU 1 start failure on the VM
mohsh86
Active Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby denkelly » Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:42 pm

>>>i'll use virtualbox or kvm-qemu or a real host.
If you use a real host with the default "qnxbasedma.ifs", as I recall you should get SMP. On virtual (VM) systems, you have to configure the VM software to give QNX access to multiple cores.

On physical systems, "hyperthread" cores will show up as "processors" unless you disable hyperthreading in the BIOS - a good idea since they are not true cores.

Without photon, you can check for two cores after boot with "pidin info". Should list two or more processors.

You can also verify the running kernel by running "pidin arg" and look for the procnto line - if multicore is present, the procnto process will have "smp" in the name.

Deploying an "smp" version of the kernel requires an add'l runtime royalty.
denkelly
Senior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:27 pm

Re: QNX Neutrino 6.3.2 MultiCore?

Postby mario » Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:25 pm

denkelly wrote:On physical systems, "hyperthread" cores will show up as "processors" unless you disable hyperthreading in the BIOS - a good idea since they are not true cores.


Not only a good idea but a MUST. Neutrino isn't hyperthread aware, it doesn't know the hyperthread core is MUCH slower then the real core. Hence you can run into some real performance issue if you don't turn off hyperthreading
mario
QNX Master
 
Posts: 4132
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:04 am


Return to QNX6 - OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron