Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Telnet and QNX 6.5

Telnet and QNX 6.5

Discussion about the QNX6 OS.

Telnet and QNX 6.5

Postby cciarleg » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:43 am

Hi,

Lots of questions from a QNX newbie!

So I would like to get telnet running on my development machine.

I understand that both telnet and ftp start with inetd at startup.

I have uncommented the lines required in /etc/inetd.conf and restarted inetd.

After slaying inetd, when I do inetd -d

ADD : ftp proto=tcp, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/sbin
ftpd policy=
registered /usr/sbin/ftpd on 4
ADD : telnet proto=tcp, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/s
in/telnetd policy=
registered /usr/sbin/telnetd on 5
ADD : ftp proto=tcp6, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/sbi
/ftpd policy=
ADD : telnet proto=tcp6, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/
bin/telnetd policy=
FREE: telnet proto=tcp6, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/
bin/telnetd policy=
FREE: ftp proto=tcp6, wait.max=0.40, user:group=root: builtin=0 server=/usr/sbi
/ftpd policy=

and pidin : less (last 2 outputs)

938020 1 usr/sbin/inetd 10r SIGWAITINFO
942115 1 bin/pidin 10r REPLY 1

I can ping the computer and ping other computers from the computer, but no telnet service.

What other files need to be configured to do this successfully?

Thanks much,

Connie C.
cciarleg
Active Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 am

RE: Telnet and QNX 6.5

Postby maschoen » Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:15 pm

It should be working. Do you have /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow files? By default ftp will not work with root.

What happens when you telnet or ftp to the system? What message to do you get?
maschoen
QNX Master
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 5:18 pm

RE: Telnet and QNX 6.5

Postby cciarleg » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:55 pm

I have an /etc/passwd file which contains entries for sshd and ftp.
I have an /etc/opasswd file which contains similar
I have an /etc/shadow file with entries for root and 1 user

I am operating as root so that explains the ftp, but I am still not able to telnet pr ssh.

The error is:

# telnet 192.168.1.2
Trying 192.168.1.2...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused
#

And I think I figured out it has something to do with how my router is setup-not sure what. I tried assigning an external IP to another computer in a different building and that worked alright.

I still need to be able to telnet internal to my network though. I have set up the router to port forward on port 23 for telnet.
cciarleg
Active Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 am

RE: Telnet and QNX 6.5

Postby cciarleg » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:41 pm

I need a little bit more help with this:

The problem does not seem to be the router after all-I can telnet OUT, I just cannot telnet in-which is what I want to do and get the "connection refused" error.

I think it is an issue with inetd-one that I am not sure how to fix after uncommenting the telnet lines in inetd.conf.

In order to telnet I have to do
telnetd -4 -debug 23

on the command line-that fixes everything.

Is this a different process than the one started in inetd.conf? If so, how do I add it in so that telnetd is started on boot?

Thanks.
cciarleg
Active Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 am


Return to QNX6 - OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron