Skip navigation.
Home
The QNX Community Portal

View topic - Qt on PowerPC

Qt on PowerPC

Isn't the name clear?

Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:16 pm

Hi,

I'd like to compile Qt for a PowerPC target running Neutrino 6.5.
I don't know how to do this.
Can someone help me ?

Regards,
Nicolas
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:54 pm

I'm not sure anyone in the community knows the answer. AFAIK the support for Qt on QNX is now provided through Digia, maybe there you can get some advice.

However, Qt does not include graphics drivers. So you'd need a QNX "io-display" based graphics driver for your PPC-based board. If you don't have one there is no point in compiling Qt.
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:03 pm

It seems that QNX support is included in Qt 4.8. We found on Qt web site a page dedicated to QNX. We are trying to follow the instructions given on this page.

I know we need a graphics driver. I'm working on it. Reading Qt documentation, it seems to be possible to run Qt with an embedded vnc server on top of a virtual screen.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:09 pm

nico04 wrote:It seems that QNX support is included in Qt 4.8. We found on Qt web site a page dedicated to QNX. We are trying to follow the instructions given on this page.


Can you share the link to that page?
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:50 am

nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:48 am

Half a year has passed, and I am curious: Are you running Qt on PowerPC today?
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:31 am

Unfortunately I didn't had much time to work on it.
So, I decided to use Photon as a GUI.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:18 pm

But Photon will be deprecated with the next QNX release, as announced in SP1 Release Notes. Of course, Photon will continue to work, but...
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:38 am

Yes, I know. But :
- I quickly needed a GUI for my application. I did not had time to work on Qt.
- Photon is well documented and supported by QNX support.
- I have 3 different screens. I don't know if this is supported by Qt.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:35 pm

3 different screens - which graphics hardware and QNX driver are you using for that? Has each screen an individual content?
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:17 pm

I use custom hardware.
One screen is a 1920x1080 HD output.
One screen is a 320x240 RGB LCD panel.
One screen is a 128x32 monochromatic LCD panel.

As you can imagine, each screen has its own content.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:17 am

Impressive. Did you write the devg graphics driver?
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:43 am

Yes, Iwrote the devg graphics drivers.
I used the flat driver as a template. To simplify, all 3 drivers are 32bpp (ARGB) from application point of view. The flushrect() function is written to send the correct data to the hardware.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby Thunderblade » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:21 am

Good to know this is a viable solution. From QNX I understand that they will not support any graphics on Power architecture in future any more.
Thunderblade
Senior Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:52 am

Re: Qt on PowerPC

Postby nico04 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:45 am

I guess this is because PowerPC are less and less used in customer market.
But this can be problematic. In my case, PowerPC was not a choice, I had no other solution for my application.
nico04
Active Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:59 am
Location: France


Return to GUI Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests