When you "rm" a file from your filesystem, the file contents are still
available on the disk. To securely wipe out the file, you need the
"secure rm" utility. It can wipe a file all to zero before unlinking it:
srm -Xz filename
or, for the really security-minded individual, it can write multiple
copies of randomized garbage over the file before unlinking it:
srm -X8 filename
will write 8 different patterns of garbage over the file.
ALPHA version is available at:
"srm" is intended to replace "rm".
Please report any bugs you may find.
[If replying via email, you'll need to click on the URL that's emailed to you
afterwards to forward the email to me -- spam filters and all that]
Robert Krten, PDP minicomputer collector http://www.parse.com/~pdp8/
bridged with qnx.public.sysadmin
1 post • Page 1 of 1